News Archives
  Rapport Magazine
  Press Releases
  Alumni Spotlight
  Community Calendar
  Resources &   Publications


Summer 2005 Rapport: Graduation 2005

Back to Table of Contents

Download this page of the Summer 2004 Rapport (PDF, 640 KB,Download Help, Download Time Calculator)


President Byron D. Klaus
awarded 148 degrees to
the largest graduating class on record—146 graduates from 31 states, Puerto Rico and 11 countries—during commencement on Saturday, April 30, 2005.

Dr. Sheri Benvenuti, vice president of student affairs at Vanguard University of Southern California, delivered an inspiring keynote address.

Three graduates from the AGTS branch in Florida—(highlighted
left to right) Arden Adamson (Wisconsin-Northern Michigan District), Terry Yancey (Kansas District) and Steven Brown (South Carolina District)—join five other AGTS alumni who are district superintendents.

  • 2004, Roger Brumbalow, Georgia
  • 2004, Robert Cook,
    Rocky Mountain
  • 1988, Donald Gifford,
  • 1986, Daniel York,
  • 1979, Steve Tourville, Pennsylvania-Delaware

Doctor of Ministry
(D.Min.) graduate
Faye Tidwell was
presented with the
first Leader Worth
Following award
during the D.Min.
symposium, Friday,
April 29.


The Legacy Award: D.V. Hurst

Legacy Award recipient D.V. Hurst is president emeritus at Asia Theological Centre for Evangelism and Missions,Singapore.

D.V. Hurst was born in Annandale, Minnesota, in 1923. He graduated from North Central University in 1944 and from the University of Sioux Falls in 1947. He earned a Master of Arts in Education degree from Drury University in 1958.

Early in his ministry, Hurst served churches in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, and Tulsa, Oklahoma. He taught at North Central University from 1947 to 1950. From 1951 to 1966, he served the AG’s national Sunday School Department and was secretary of the AG Radio Department and narrator for the Revivaltime broadcast. He was the president of Northwest College in Kirkland, Washington, from 1966 to 1990 and has served as president of Asia Theological Centre for Evangelism and Missions in Singapore for the past 10 years.

Most significant to AGTS, D. V. Hurst served as the chairman of the “For Such a Time” capital campaign, which raised $6.2 million to build the current facilities.
The Legacy Award honors persons whose service on behalf of AGTS is worthy of public recognition.

Alumnus of the Year: Capt. Olric R. Wilkins, ChC, USN

Chaplain Olric R. Wilkins, class of 1984, assumed his current position as command chaplain, Marine Corps Combat Development Command, Quantico, Virginia, in June 2004. Before that, he was deputy director of Operational Ministries, Norfolk, Virginia.
A native of the Virgin Islands, Wilkins earned the Master of Divinity from AGTS and attended postgraduate school at the University of Texas at Austin.

Wilkins was command chaplain aboard the USS Nashville (LPD-13); assistant command chaplain, Naval Air Station, Oceana; assistant director of pastoral care, Portsmouth Naval Hospital; and command chaplain, USS Mount Whitney (LCC/JCC-20).

His decorations include the Meritorious Service Medal, four Navy Commendation Medals, two Navy Achievement Medals, the Joint Meritorious Service Medal, the Good Conduct Medal, two National Defense Medals, the Humanitarian Service Medal, the Southwest Asia Service Medal, the Armed Forces Medal, the NATO Medal and the Kuwait Liberation Medal.

Wilkins is married to the former Angela Alsberry of Strasburg, Virginia.

Updated: Monday, May 1, 2006 8:41 AM


1.800.467.AGTS • 1.800.467.2487 • Fax: 417.268.1001 • agts@agts.edu1435 N. Glenstone Ave., Springfield, Mo. 65802
Copyright © AGTS. All rights reserved. AGTS Website Policies: Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Linkage Disclaimer